Discussion: View Thread

Provisional Ball Question

  • 1.  Provisional Ball Question

    Posted Jun 13, 2016 16:25

    Not sure this is the correct place to ask this but here goes...

    I played yesterday where a gal hit her tee shot and it looked like the ball could've been OB but we didn't see it land.  She hit a provisional shot.

    The provisional shot landed a shorter distance than her first drive so she hit that ball.  Walking over to where her first drive would've landed, she found her first ball.

    We let her play her first ball for that hole and she picked up the provisional ball.

    Were we incorrect here? 

    Looking forward to your comments.


    Joni Shimabukuro

    Joni Shimabukuro
    Joni Photo
    Portland OR
    United States

  • 2.  RE: Provisional Ball Question

    Posted Jun 13, 2016 20:34
    Hi Joni,

    Yes, you proceeded correctly! In fact, since she found her first ball she was required to abandon the provisional ball and play her original. There is no penalty for this. If, however, she taken another stroke at the provisional ball at a point that was beyond where her original ball was thought to be, then the original ball becomes "lost" and she must play the provisional ball and take the stroke and distance penalty.

    Hope that makes sense. Fire away with any questions!

    Jeanne Biggerstaff
    ​Portland Chapter Handicap Chair